Irish Writers who have won the Man Booker Prize for Fiction


The Booker Prize for Fiction is awarded each year for the best original novel written in English. Until recently, the prize was limited to only writers publishing in the United Kingdom. The prize is of great significance for writers, publishers, and readers. This is a much sought-after mark of distinction. 

1973 – James Gordon Farrell – ‘The Siege of Krishnapur 

1978 – Jean Iris Murdoch – ‘The Sea, the Sea’ 

1993 – Roddy Doyle – ‘Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha 

2005 – John Banville – ‘The Sea’ 

No Comments

Comments are closed.